I Know I Will Enjoy It But…

Every unschooler (and probably every person) I’ve met has experience moments of Nothing I Could Do Right Now Sounds Remotely Enjoyable. Or moments of Yesterday I Had So Many Things I Wanted To Do And Now I Have None. It’s tough when it happens, but since it’s pretty much inevitable, I thought I’d share some of the things that have helped me get out of this spot.

Make lists of things you love to do:

When you are in a mood of excitement, as in you feel like you have so many things you love to do, make a list. Make a list of all the things you love to do, ranging from large interests like ‘photography’ to smaller things you enjoy like ‘make paper flowers.’

Some of my list right now might look a bit like this:

  • Write
  • Pixar in a Box
  • Solitare
  • Suduko
  • Read
  • Look at atlases
  • Practice handstands
  • Practice fiddle
  • Do Duolingo
  • Bake something
  • Write a blog post
  • Take pictures

When you’re feeling down, take out your list and choose something, even if it sounds like a lot of work. Chances are once you’ve started you’ll be glad you did. You may have noticed that I didn’t include a lot of things that are more passive and that’s because I wanted to include that separately:

Do Nothing:

Sometimes it’s really nice to just do nothing. There are a few different ways you can do this. The first is just to daydream, sit somewhere and really do nothing. Just give yourself a break from feeling like you have to do something. Another way to do this is to watch something. Sometimes all you feel like doing is something passive that doesn’t take much energy. Find a movie or TV show to watch and just sit down and enjoy.

Go Somewhere:

Maybe you’re just feeling bored of your house. Maybe all you need is a little time out. Go to the library, just into town, visit a friend, take a hike. Get out there and enjoy yourself. You could also try taking a class or workshop, letting someone else figure out what you should do for a while rather than you having to do it all.

Good luck getting back on track!

Larkin

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.