Busy Busy

Recently I’ve been feeling very busy. You might be able to tell that if you know that I started this on Saturday and now it’s Tuesday. I’m sure for some people, my life wouldn’t look busy but when I have so many wonderful things that I really want to make time for, it definitely feels busy. So I thought I would talk a little bit about taking on too much, quitting and figuring out a good balance of going places and staying at home.

Firstly I want to say that everyone feels different about these things. For some people, they need to get out of the house very regularly, and they need to hang out with friends and see people. Honestly for me, I would be pretty happy at home for days not really seeing anyone. I love to immerse myself in projects and I love knowing that I don’t have to go anywhere.

Give Yourself Time:

I think the first thing is to give it time. I mean, try out a routine. If it’s the beginning of a lot of new activities (for instance September) give yourself a few weeks in it before you decide to drop something. Sometimes once you settle into a new routine and know how to manage it, you find it doesn’t feel as busy. And that transitions perfectly into the next thing I have to say:

Quitting Activities:

After a few weeks you still feel busy or like something isn’t working for you, it’s okay to quit. If it cost money and you can get it back, great! But in my opinion the most important thing is to be enjoying what you’re doing. And sometimes what you need to do is do less, plain and simple.

Balance:

Perhaps I should have started with this but I think one of the most important things is just to understand your balance. Before you think about the things you want to do, recognize how much time you want to spend at home, how much you want to spend doing scheduled things outside of the house, and how much time you want to spend with friends or doing spur-of-the-moment things. That should help you know what to sign yourself up for.

Hope this helps!

-Larkin

Leave a Reply

