Homeschooling Questions

For something different, I created these 5 questions for me and some others to answer. I thought it would be a good way to get some basic knowledge about what I do and what I’m interested in.

  1. What would you consider yourself (unschooler, homeschooler, online school, etc)?

I consider myself an unschooler. When I first stopped going to school(I’ll talk more about that during #4), I was more of a homeschooler. But as I started reading a lot of books about education and unschooling, I felt more and more drawn towards that direction. I do sometimes do formal math, but only because I like math, and it’s a good way to do some. Not because I feel I am required to. Throughout the days, I follow my interests (more on what I do during #3)

  1. What (if any) organized activities do you do outside your house?

I’m going to talk about this past year (because my outside of the house things run on a school schedule) because I don’t know what exactly I’ll do next year. One day a week, I go to a homeschool co-op. We all lead and take classes in things we’re interested in. Then, twice a week I have circus. I volunteer for an hour a week at my public library and my (adult) friend tutors me in Latin each week. Then, I have dance practice for a couple hours each week.

  1. What does a typical week look like?

I won’t touch on the evenings much, because they’re mostly just hanging out with family and reading. Also, this is just if there was nothing else scheduled. Quite often, I’ll be hanging out with a friend one day or I’ll have a dentist appointment or something like that.

Monday: Homeschool co-op all day. Around it I’ll probably read, write, and do tasks around the house.

Tuesday: Most of my family is home on Tuesday (my mom, my sister and sometimes my brother) so sometimes we’ll go out to take care of things like shopping. Other than that. I’ll spend most of the day working on things. Reading, writing, planning novels, taking photos, editing, blogging, doing structured math, taking walks, working on Latin, Spanish or French. And other things too, probably! I’ll also help with what needs to be done for the family. Then, I have circus from 4-6.

Wednesday: No one is home on Wednesday except for sometimes my brother. The morning is free. I’ll probably do any number of the things listed on Tuesday. I volunteer at the library from about 2-3 or 3:15 and I have Latin from 3:30-5:30 (roughly).

Thursday: On Thursdays my sister is home and my brother sometimes is. It is basically the same as Tuesday for me, except that my mom isn’t home (she works outside of the house 3 days a week). Circus in the evening again.

Friday and Saturday: Fridays and Saturdays are kind of random. I have nothing scheduled, but I’ll normally help out on the farm, maybe go out somewhere, hang out with friends, or do any of the things I listed on Tuesday. My mom is home on Friday and everyone is around Saturday (except for maybe my brother

Sunday: I have dance practice in the morning, and then my afternoon is generally the same as Friday or Saturday.

  1. How did you become homeschooled (did you used to go to school, did your parents choose to homeschool you since you were little for some specific reason, etc.)?

When I was in 7th grade, I wasn’t very happy with my school. I looked into a couple of alternatives, but I never really made anything happen. Then, over the summer, my sister decided to homeschool. I got excited about it and wanted to as well. My parents wanted me to go to school for about a month, just to make sure I wasn’t confused (since I’d made the decision late August). I went for about 3 weeks, my heart not in it (let me know if you want to hear a funny story about that time). I tried out a homeschool group, to see if I liked it and then I never went back to school. I gradually transitioned from homeschooling to unschooling.

  1. What do you have to show to the government to be allowed to homeschool? (it’s different in every spot)

In the beginning of the year, we have to submit a plan for what we’ll do. It’s kind of a pain, especially for me as an unschooler, but it’s not the worst thing. Then at the end of the year, we have to create an explanation of how you met the goals you set and what you did, along with a portfolio of work.

Let me know if you have any more questions that I can answer!

 

2 thoughts on “Homeschooling Questions

  1. Hey Larkin! Your blog is so cool!
    I used to be homeschooled (up until April, actually) but now I go to a private school.
    I was wondering if you could explain (and maybe you did in a post and I just haven’t seen it yet) unschooling. What does unschooling mean? How does it work? How does it differ from ordinary homeschooling?
    —Ari—

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by! What has that change been like for you, from homeschooling to private school? This post may help you understand unschooling a little more. Let me know if you have questions or want to learn more!

      Like

Leave a Reply

